LIACS MSc Programme Committee CS and MT

The main goal of the LIACS Masters Programme Committee CS and MT is to assess and provide oversight for the course evaluations from the students.  Specifically, we discuss the student evaluations of the courses and decide on comments to be given to the program directors and teachers as well as followup plans. The committee also provides advice and input into critical documents such as the OER.   In addition, we provide feedback from the students on various aspects at LIACS related to the teaching environment such as facilities, computer rooms, curriculums, etc.

The committee members are:
  • Michael Lew, staff, chair, Master Computer Science (CS2)
  • Erwin Bakker, staff, staff, Master Computer Science (CS1)
  • Edwin van der Heide, staff, Master Media Technology (MT)
  • Ruben van der Waal, student, Master Computer Science 2nd year (CS2)
  • Maurits de Groot, student, Master Computer Science 1st year (CS1)
  • Ingrid Weerts, student, Master Media Technology (MT)
  • David Lim, student, observer (De Leidsche Flesch)

Secretary: Jose Visser,

Note that the staff members are appointed by the Faculty of Science and the student members are representatives for their program and confirmed by the Faculty of Science. 

PC Meetings

2016-12-09 - Masters Computer Science course/curriculum evaluations, Spring 2016
2017-02-08 - OER, Masters ICTiB course/curriculum evaluations, Spring 2016
2017-03-21 - Masters Media Technology course/curriculum evaluations, Fall 2016
2017-04-13 - Masters Computer Science course/curriculum evaluations, Fall 2016
2017-05-18 - Masters Computer Science oral evaluations and new EC laws, Fall 2016
2017-11-30 - Ramifications of new law on higher education
2018-01-23 - Discussion on Annual Program Reports
2018-02-15 - Discussion on Faculty of Science and LIACS OER
2018-03-01 - Discussion on MediaTechnology Courses and Program
2018-04-05 - Discussion on Computer Science Courses and Program
2018-05-03 - Discussion on ICT in Business Courses and Program
2018-07-18 - Discussion on ICT in Business Courses and Program continued
2018-10-31 - Discussion on Media Technology and Computer Science and ICTiB&PS and Assessment of University Education Quality
2018-12-05 - Discussion on Computer Science Courses
2019-02-22 - Discussion on OER, Program Reports, Self Evaluations for Visitatie
2019-03-22 - Discussion on Evaluation Procedures and Schedules for CS, MT and ICTiB&PS
2019-04-12 - Discussion on MT Evaluations
2019-05-24 - Discussion on CS Evaluations
2019-06-21 - Discussion on ICTiB&PS Evaluations
2019-10-08 - Discussion on CS Evaluations
2019-10-29 - Discussion on MT Evaluations
2019-12-04 - Discussion and Introduction and Agenda
2020-01-21 - Discussion on NSE Evaluations
2020-02-14 - Discussion on OER
2020-02-28 - Discussion on OER
2020-05-18 - Discussion on Media Technology Courses and Program
2020-06-04 - Discussion on Computer Science Courses and Program
2020-07-03 - Discussion on Issues in Courses and Program

Student members are selected each year. Typically, we describe the responsibilities and time requirements for the positions each year in early September (often at the masters information meetings), hold interviews with candidates at the beginning of the academic year(eary Sept.) and then send the tentative list of student members to the Faculty of Science. The timing can vary depending on discussions with the Faculty and also the internal committee. Also, note that each programme committee must obey their own unique bylaws so please contact the chair around the end of August about the details for that year.

If you would like to submit positive/negative comments on a course or want more information on the status of courses and evaluations, you can contact one of the representatives for your degree program (see above). They generally have all of the current information and are closely involved with the decisions.

Or contact the chair, Michael Lew at m.s.k.lew (at)